Cake Mix Extender AKA Life Saver

This past week’s recipe was for a cake mix extender.  I hear a lot of people using them, but have never had the guts to try one.  Usually if I need another cup of cake batter I just make another batch and freeze the rest.  Well, I finally tried it and was pleasantly surprised.  I made a birthday cake for my friend’s aunt (actually her son-it was his first birthday) and she wanted a chocolate cake with a chocolate smash cake.  The cake itself needed an entire cake mix and for the smash cake I only needed about a cup of batter, so I decided to try this extender recipe:

3/4 c flour

1/4 c sugar

1 t baking soda

1/2 c water

1/4 c oil

1 egg

I use the Nikki’s Chocolate Fudge Cake recipe from Cake Central.  This recipe uses chocolate milk instead of water, so I subbed that and I also added an extra teaspoon of vanilla and 2 tablespoons of cocoa powder to try to prevent diminishing the chocolatey goodness of this wonderful recipe.  It was almost as good, but not quite.  Still very good though.  After this experience I have to say I’m a believer!

October 5, 2009. cake, Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

