Possum Cake-Yes, you heard me right!!

It’s been a couple of weeks since I’ve posted, but I have been busy, busy.  Last Thursday I made my first sculpted cake.  It was for a friend’s dinner that has an ongoing joke about road kill with some of his coworkers.  So here it is…

100_3470

Cute, but in a weird, gross way.  I know.  The base cake is a 12” round vanilla cake with chocolate Italian meringue buttercream.  The possum is red velvet cake made from a mix with a few changes and covered in cream cheese frosting:

1 box red velvet cake mix (I used Duncan Hines)

4 eggs

1/3 c oil

1 1/4 c buttermilk

1 box chocolate pudding mix

This made a very firm cake good for carving (or at least that’s what the experts on Cake Central say).  I made the red velvet cake a couple of days in advance in two loaf pans and then wrapped well and froze them.  The day of carving I took them out of the freezer and put them in the fridge so they would thaw slowly and stay cold.  This worked really well.  Now there wasn’t a huge amount of carving to do, but it was harder than I thought it would be.  Hats off to all you cake carving gurus.  You are fabulous!!  The head was actually made from the scraps.  I basically made a red velvet cake truffle filling and covered it in fondant.

October 19, 2009. buttercream, cake, decorating, fondant, frosting, Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. Randy Cannon replied:

    I have a few questions.What did you use for the possum’s fur? Did you use any marsepan or fondant? Also, what would you do different if you sculpted a new possum cake? My niece’s fiance(redneck) insist on a possum cake. Any help would be so much appreciated. Please respond to my email. Thank you very much.
    Randy Cannon
    cannonrandy@yahoo.com

    • cakerush replied:

      Hi Randy! The possum’s fur is cream cheese frosting that I piped with a tip 21. I used fondant to cover the head which is cake truffle (cake ball) filling and the tail and feet are made of fondant. For the body I made two layers in a loaf pan that I also filled with cream cheese icing, stuck it in the freezer for a few minutes and then carved it using a template I made out of cardstock so that i could keep the two sides fairly even. It was pretty easy and I honestly don’t know what I would have done differently. Thanks for the question and let me know if I can help you out any more.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

