Halloween 30th Birthday Party

My friend Katie called the other day and wanted me to make her husband a cake for his 30th birthday.  She was having a Halloween themed party and wanted morbid.  Well, this is what she got.

100_3496It is a 12” round cake-1/2 white, 1/2 chocolate with chocolate Italian meringue buttercream.  The tombstone is made of a fondant/cellulose mix that I enhanced with black petal dust.  The rose is made of the same fondant mix and the dirt is made of crushed oreos. 

100_3489 100_3490

100_3492

My crowning achievement for this cake has got to be the spooky tree.  I wish I would have taken pictures throughout the process to show everyone.  I used a wooden dowel rod as the base that then went down into the cake too.  Then I wrapped aluminum foil around the the dowel rod and using more foil and some florist wire fashioned the branches.  Then all you do is paint chocolate over the foil.  This was the best way I could think of to get that gnarled, warped look for the tree.  The tree roots weren’t added until after decorating the next day.  For the hole with menacing eyes I just placed a little bit of fondant on the smoothest part of the tree and attached with a little bit of chocolate around the oval. 

Hope everyone liked it at the party.  It was a bit of a pain to travel with, but I think it got there o.k.

Happy Halloween!! 

October 24, 2009. Tags: . birthday, cake, decorating, fondant, fondant figures, frosting, Halloween, Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

