It’s Been a While

I know it’s been forever since I’ve blogged, but I have been baking away and taking pictures of it all.  Since the last time I’ve been here my dad and I have decided to go into business together so to speak.  So I have been working with him and my step-mom to put together a plan to offer my tasty treats through their restaurant and catering business.  I’ve been baking for some of their catering events already as well as helping out at the restaurant.  It’s very exciting and I will keep everyone posted on the progress.  Here are a few pics of what I’ve been doing lately:

100_3627

This is a 12” cake-1/2 white, 1/2 chocolate with a 1/2 round chocolate volleyball cake on top, served with chocolate and strawberry cupcakes with my favorite buttercream.  This was for a local high school’s volleyball banquet.  Everything was decorated in pink and black and our desserts worked perfectly with the decor.

100_3701 100_3692

Here’s Will’s 3rd birthday cake.  He wanted airplanes and this is what we came up with.  I made the airplane to match the invitations with lots of help from my little apprentice.  I think everything turned out great.  It is a 9” chocolate cake with mint filling, covered in chocolate chip mint ganache (just add a dram of Lorann chocolate chip mint flavor oil to your ganache), and marshmallow fondant.  The plane and clouds are made out of MMF mixed with cellulose .  The cupcakes are coconut chocolate chip with coconut buttercream.  Delicious!!  These were baked on a cookie sheet so they flared out a little bit. 

100_3702

One more and then I’ll let you go!  Here are some cupcakes that I made for Jessie’s birthday.  They are white chocolate chip with white chocolate buttercream.  The flowers and “J” are made out of fondant with gross grain ribbon accents.

100_3836

Sorry again for the extended absence.  I’ll do better in the future  🙂  Hope you like what I’ve been doing!

January 11, 2010. birthday, buttercream, cake, Cupcake, decorating, fondant, fondant figures, frosting, Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

